top of page

HIV Long Term Survivor's Day


HIV Long Term Survivor's Day is recognized each year on June 5th. This year's theme is "AIDS at 40: Envisioning a Future We Never Imagined." This day is a day to honor long term survivors of HIV as well as raise awareness of their needs, their battles and their journey to where they are now.


At Matthew 25, we wanted to honor some of our own clients this day by sharing with you some of their stories. These are their words:

"I haven't let my diagnosis define me, I haven't felt the need to keep it a secret or…I mean, it bothers me if someone held that against me but I learned in recovery that it is good to share your experience in the event that someone else might need it." -M25 Patient


"In July, I turned 56.I can't believe it, I just can't believe it. I don't feel that way, actually younger inside. My body is telling me 'nope you're old' and I know the HIV medications age the body more than someone who is not HIV(+), but I feel better." -M25 Patient


"My doctor advised me to get home and get my affairs in order and said that if I was lucky since I was diagnosed with pneumocystis pneumonia I might get a couple of years. There was no telling.." -M25 Patient


"In 1996 I had gotten sick, I had cryptosporidium, my T-cells had dropped to 76…I did not accept that this was going on. I talked to my doctor…I said, ‘So doc, I have cryptosporidium and my T cells are at 76…as for my symptoms, I have AIDS'…he said 'Technically, yes'..."

-M25 Patient


"So 1996 is when they diagnosed me as having AIDS. I said 'I'm not ready to go anywhere. I know there's trials going on' and they put me on one of the trials for one of the new protease inhibitors that hit the market. A couple of months I was back up over 200 (T cells)...The medication was working. And from that point on, I never went down below 200 again"

-M25 Patient


"I couldn't believe it. I was scared. Acquired Immuno-Deficiency Syndrome…I remember reading that in high school with these pictures…But I corresponded with Mandi for months, trying to get better, getting on my medication, but I just kept thinking 'I'm gunna die'...There's no reason somebody should get to that point. There's too many preventatives, too many ways to get tested." - M25 Patient


"My mom and dad would say, if it came up, that I had a form of leukemia. When we moved back to SE Illinois…in our hometown of Illinois, my mom and dad wanted me to be a little more reserved about it…I had gotten really sick and had to be brought to Evansville and my parents, I think, were concerned how people would treat my brother and my sister and their families....a few years later they loosened up significantly because I wasn't exactly a quiet person about it. I think that my parents came to terms with it a little more."

"I have been HIV positive for 8 years this month. I am undetectable...Accepting the fact that I have HIV was difficult and still is." M25 Patient


"I was in a relationship and I wanted to get tested but my partner didn't. So I had been sick off and on in late '86. We squabbled over getting tested and in early '87 I got sick two or three times real bad. I was having typical symptoms, so I found a doctor and I went to see him and he wanted me to get tested and so I did. He submitted it under a false name back in 1987 and a week went by and I had gotten sick again real bad, and he put me in the hospital and had a bronchoscopy done and it came back positive for pneumocystis, and that was my AIDS diagnosis. That was in April 1987.." -M25 Patient


This June 5th, we want to honor all HIV long term survivors. We recognize your courage and your strength in this fight. We will continue to be diligent in all of our efforts to support, educate and treat those living with HIV/AIDS.


If you have any questions about our resources or would like to schedule a free and confidential HIV test, please call (866) 607-6590. You can also email treed@matthew25clinic.org for more information!


Follow us on:


bottom of page